Home Patients Pain Clinics Counterfeit Proof Prescription Pad Vendors Prescription Drug Monitoring Program

The Controlled Substances Bill is Florida’s response to opioid abuse. Click on the appropriate tab for more information.

Pharmacy PSA

Frequently Asked Questions

This website provides basic information pertaining to CS/CS/HB 21, the Controlled Substances Bill, and the upcoming changes for prescribers and dispensers. Signed by the Governor on March 19, 2018 with an effective date of July 1, 2018, the law addresses opioid abuse by establishing prescribing limits, requiring continuing education on controlled substance prescribing, expanding required use of Florida’s Prescription Drug Monitoring Program, EFORCSE, and more.

Chapter 2018-13, Laws of Florida

For questions, contact the Florida Department of Health at Takecontrol@FLhealth.gov

Florida Board of Dentistry
 

**NOTE: The ONLY approved CE providers are: (1) The Florida Medical Association, (2) Florida Osteopathic Medical Association, (3) Florida Academy of Family Physicians, and (4) Emergency Medicine Learning & Resource Center.

Click Here for the Mandatory CE Course

All licensed dentists who are registered with the DEA and authorized to prescribe, including Teaching Permit holders, Health Access dentists, Temporary Certificate holders, Limited License holders and Dental Residents are impacted by the changes in the Controlled Substances Bill.

There are four key changes in the law for all dentists. They include:

  • A requirement that dentists take a Board-approved 2-hour CE course on prescribing controlled substances;
  • Prescription supply limits for the treatment of acute pain that may not exceed 3 days or up to a 7 day supply in special circumstances;
  • The Florida Board of Dentistry develop guidelines for prescribing controlled substances for acute pain;
  • And mandatory requirement for all dentists to utilize the PDMP for the prescribing or dispensing of controlled substances.

 

Use the quick links on the right for additional information.

For questions, contact the Florida Department of Health at Takecontrol@FLhealth.gov

Florida Board of Medicine
 

**NOTE: The ONLY approved CE providers are: (1) The Florida Medical Association, (2) Florida Osteopathic Medical Association, (3) Florida Academy of Family Physicians, and (4) Florida College of Emergency Physicians, (5) Baptist Health South Florida, (6) InforMed, (7) Florida Psychiatric Society, and (8) Emergency Medicine Learning & Resource Center. Click here for the "Physician CE Course"

Chapter 2018-13, Laws of Florida (House Bill 21) provides new requirements for prescribing controlled substances.

  • All licensed physicians registered with the DEA and authorized to prescribe controlled substances must take a board approved 2-hour CE course on controlled substances. This includes those physicians with a limited license, temporary certificate holders, and residents.
  • Prescription and dispensing supply limits for the treatment of acute pain may not exceed a 3-day supply or up to a 7-day supply under special circumstances.
  • The Board of Medicine is required to develop guidelines for prescribing controlled substances for acute pain.
  • All practitioners must use the PDMP for prescribing or dispensing controlled substances.

 

Use the quick links on the right for additional information.

For questions, contact the Florida Department of Health at Takecontrol@FLhealth.gov

Florida Board of Nursing
 

**Note: The 3 hour course must be offered by a statewide professional association of physicians in this state accredited to provide educational activities designated for the American Medical Association Physician’s Recognition Award Category 1 credit, the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, or the American Association of Nurse Practitioners.**

In an effort to combat the national opioid epidemic in Florida, in March 2018 Governor Rick Scott signed legislation creating new limits on schedule II prescriptions for pain medication. Continuing Education on the Safe and Effective Prescription of Controlled Substances is required at each renewal for Advanced Practice Registered Nurses. Use the quick links on the right for additional information.

For questions, contact the Florida Department of Health at Takecontrol@FLhealth.gov

Florida Board of Optometry
 

**NOTE: The ONLY approved CE providers are: (1) The Florida Medical Association, (2) Florida Osteopathic Medical Association, (3) Florida Academy of Family Physicians, (4) InforMed, and (5) Emergency Medicine Learning & Resource Center.

Click Here for the Mandatory CE Course

All licensed and certified optometrists who registered with the DEA are authorized to administer and prescribe, are impacted by the changes in the Controlled Substances Bill.

There are four key changes in the law for all certified optometrists. They include:

  • A requirement that a certified optometrist take a Board-approved 2-hour CE course on prescribing controlled substances;
  • Prescription supply limits for the treatment of acute pain that may not exceed 3 days or up to a 7 day supply in special circumstances;
  • The Florida Board of Optometry develop guidelines for prescribing controlled substances for acute pain; and
  • Mandatory requirement for all certified optometrists to utilize the PDMP for the prescribing or dispensing of controlled substances.

 

Use the quick links on the right for additional information.

For questions, contact the Florida Department of Health at Takecontrol@FLhealth.gov

Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine
 

**NOTE: The ONLY approved CE providers are: (1) The Florida Medical Association, (2) Florida Osteopathic Medical Association, (3) Florida Academy of Family Physicians, and (4) Emergency Medicine Learning & Resource Center.

Click Here for the Mandatory CE Course

All licensed Osteopathic Physicians who are registered with the DEA and authorized to prescribe controlled substances, including Full License holders, Limited License holders, Temporary Certificate holders, and Residents, are impacted by the changes made by the Controlled Substances Bill.

There are four key changes in the law. They include:

  • A requirement to take a Board-approved 2-hour CE course on prescribing controlled substances by January 31, 2019, and during each renewal thereafter;
  • Prescription supply limits for the treatment of acute pain that may not exceed 3 days or up to a 7 day supply in special circumstances;
  • The Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine is required to develop guidelines for prescribing controlled substances for acute pain; and
  • A requirement for all practitioners to utilize the PDMP for the prescribing or dispensing of controlled substances.

 

Use the quick links on the right for additional information.

For questions, contact the Florida Department of Health at Takecontrol@FLhealth.gov

Florida Board of Pharmacy
 

Pharmacy PSA

Pharmacists are affected by the changes in the Controlled Substances Bill in three major ways:

  1. Pharmacists will need to educate themselves regarding the changes to certain prescribing limits on controlled substances;
  2. Pharmacists will also need to familiarize themselves with new rules to be adopted by prescribing practitioners which establish guidelines for use of controlled substances for treatment of acute pain; and
  3. Pharmacists will be required to report to the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) system when dispensing controlled substances to a patient.

Use the quick links on the right for additional information.

For questions, contact the Florida Department of Health at Takecontrol@FLhealth.gov

Florida Board of Podiatric Medicine
 

**NOTE: The ONLY approved CE providers are: (1) The Florida Medical Association, (2) Florida Osteopathic Medical Association, (3) Florida Academy of Family Physicians, (4) InforMed, and (5) Emergency Medicine Learning & Resource Center.

Click Here for the Mandatory CE Course

Podiatric Physicians are affected by the changes in the Controlled Substances Bill in four major ways:

  1. Podiatric Physicians are required to take a board-approved mandatory Continuing Education course on prescribing controlled substances;
  2. As prescribing practitioners, Podiatric Physicians are subject to certain prescribing limits on controlled substances;
  3. Podiatric Physicians will need to adopt rules establishing guidelines for prescribing controlled substances for treatment of acute pain; and
  4. Podiatric Physicians will be required to report to the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) system when dispensing controlled substances to a patient

Use the quick links on the right for additional information.

For questions, contact the Florida Department of Health at Takecontrol@FLhealth.gov