Licensees fingerprinted on or after January 1, 2013 are required by s. 456.0135, Florida Statutes to have their background results maintained in the Florida's Care Provider Background Screening Clearinghouse. Licensees for screened professions fingerprinted before January 1, 2013 have their backgrounds run by the Department when they renew their licenses. Licensees are responsible for the screening and background retention costs pursuant to Florida Statutes.
Individuals fingerprinted on or after January 1, 2013 and had their background results stored in the Florida's Care Provider Background Screening Clearinghouse (Clearinghouse), are maintained in the Clearinghouse for a period of 5 years. When the licensee’s results are close to their 5-year mark, the Department will send a notice that they are required to renew their enrollment.
Licensees will be able to log into their license accounts using the MQA Online Services portal. From there, licensees will be able to complete the Clearinghouse Retained Fingerprint Renewal application and pay their $48.00 fee. The Department will ensure that the process is completed and the licensees’ enrollments are renewed for the next 5-year period.
Licensed Medical Doctors, Osteopaths, Chiropractors, Podiatrists and Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioners that do not have their background screenings stored in the Florida's Care Provider Background Screening Clearinghouse (Clearinghouse), are required to pay an additional fee of $24.00 when they renew their license. The Department uses this fee to submit a Level 1 background check with the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.