ONLINE LICENSURE PROCESS

If you have not already been licensed or applied for licensure in Florida

1. REGISTER FOR A NEW USER ACCOUNT IN THE ONLINE SERVICES PORTAL.

Visit <u>www.flhealthsource.gov/mqa-services</u>, select No and click Register. Once on the registration screen, follow the prompts for new user registration using a valid, active email address.

2. LOG IN TO YOUR NEW ACCOUNT.

Check your email to locate your new account user ID and temporary password. Using your temporary password and user ID provided via email, log into your account. (Note: You will be prompted to create a new password for your account. Enter the temporary password in the "Old/Temporary Password" field.)

3. ADD YOUR LICENSE APPLICATION OR APPLY FOR A LICENSE.

Once logged in, you will be prompted to add any existing health care licenses or previously submitted applications to your account. Follow the prompts to add your license or application using your social security number, date of birth, and mailing address zip code. If you do not have a current license or pending application, or your license is null and void, select "No" to proceed with applying for a license.



QUESTIONS?



Your Portal. On Demand.

ONLINE CUSTOMER SERVICE PORTAL www.flhealthsource.gov

CUSTOMER CONTACT CENTER

Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. ET (850) 488-0595

FLORIDA BOARD OF HEARING AID SPECIALISTS

For fees and applications:

www.floridashearingaidspecialists.gov MQA.HearingAid@flhealth.gov

MAILING ADDRESS

Applications and Fees ONLY: Department of Health Board of Hearing Aid Specialists P.O. Box 6330 Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330

Application Documents or Correspondence:

Florida Department of Health Board of Hearing Aid Specialists 4042 Bald Cypress Way Bin C-08 Tallahassee, FL 32399

FLORIDA BOARD OF HEARING AID SPECIALISTS



www.floridashearingaidspecialists.gov

LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

- Applicants must submit the State of Florida Hearing Aid Specialists Application for Licensure, along with required fees;
- Age Applicant must be 18 years of age or older;
- Education Applicant must be a graduate of an accredited high school or its equivalent;
- Experience Applicant must either meet the requirements of the Florida training program; or have a valid, current license as a hearing aid specialist or its equivalent from another state and has been actively practicing in such capacity for at least 12 months; or is currently certified by the National Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences and has been actively practicing for at least 12 months;
- Examination Applicant must pass the International Licensing Examination (ILE) for the Hearing Instrument Dispenser administered by the International Hearing Society;
- Florida Laws and Rules Applicant must take a two-hour course in state laws and rules related to the fitting and dispensing of hearing aids from a Florida Board of Hearing Aid Specialists approved provider.

HEARING AID SPECIALISTS TRAINING PROGRAM

The Florida training program is a minimum of six months in length and is divided into four stages. Following the completion of stage I, the trainee shall be in training for the dispensing of hearing aids for a minimum of twenty hours each week totaling 480 hours during the six month training period, and shall be under the direct supervision of the sponsor at all times when performing the functions of a hearing aid specialist.

Stage I: During this Stage, the trainee shall complete the International Hearing Society Distance Learning Course and shall submit proof of passing the distance learning course final examination to the Board Office before entering Stage II of the Training Program.

Stage II - 1 month: During this Stage, the trainee may perform audiometric fests, and make ear mold impressions and modifications, but the sponsor or hearing aid specialist designated by the sponsor shall be physically present, in the same room at all times when the trainee is performing these functions. The trainee may not recommend the selection of a hearing aid, dispense a hearing aid, or counsel a client.

Stage III – 2 months: During this Stage the trainee may perform all tasks in Stage II, recommend the selection of a hearing aid, and counsel a client, but the trainee shall be under the direct supervision of the sponsor or hearing aid specialist designated by the sponsor. The trainee may not deliver a hearing aid.

Stage IV – 3 months: During this Stage the trainee may perform all the tasks in Stages II and III and deliver hearing aids, but the sponsor or hearing aid specialist designated by the sponsor shall be physically present in the same room at the time a hearing aid is delivered to the client, and the receipt required by Section 484.051, F.S., must have the signature and license number of the sponsor or hearing aid specialist designated by the sponsor.

Requirements to qualify as the sponsor of a trainee:

- The prospective sponsor must have possessed an active license and have been
 actively practicing for at least two (2) consecutive years immediately prior to
 sponsorship, and must be Board certified by the National Board for Certification
 in Hearing Instrument Sciences. (NBCHIS), except that audiologists who are also
 licensed hearing aid specialists licensed under Chapter 484, Part II, F.S., are not
 required to be NBCHIS certified.
- The prospective sponsor must not have been disciplined during the past four (4) years, unless the discipline is for a minor violation under Rule 64B6-7.006, F.A.C., a citation, or a letter of concern, and all terms of any final order are satisfied; and
- · A sponsor may not sponsor more than three (3) trainees at any one time.

LICENSURE RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS

The Florida Department of Health now reviews your continuing education records in the Department's electronic tracking system, powered by CE Broker, at the time of license renewal. Visit <u>www.cerenewal.com</u> for more information.

Continuing Education (CE) Requirements		
REQUIRED SUBJECT AREA	REQUIRED NUMBER OF HOURS	IMPORTANT INFORMATION
General Hours	14	
Laws and Rules	2	
HIV/AIDS	2	
Medical Error	2	

<u>First Biennium Renewal</u>: Hearing Aid Specialists initially licensed in the biennium are exempt from completing continuing education



