
Mission: 
To protect, promote & improve the health 
of all people in Florida through integrated 
state, county & community efforts. 

 

Ron DeSantis 

Governor 

 

Scott A. Rivkees, MD 

State Surgeon General 

Vision: To be the Healthiest State in the Nation 

 

  

Florida Department of Health 

Division of Disease Control and Health Protection 

Bureau of Epidemiology 

4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A-12 • Tallahassee, FL 32399 
PHONE: 850/245-4401 • FAX: 850/413-9113 

FloridaHealth.gov 

 
 

 

Update on Reporting of COVID-19 for Health Care Providers and Facilities 

July 1, 2020 

COVID-19 positive patients and COVID-19 laboratory results are subject to mandatory reporting to the 
Florida Department of Health under Section 381.0031, Florida Statutes, and Emergency Rule No. 
64DER20-26, Florida Administrative Code. This includes all COVID-19 test types: polymerase chain 
reaction (PCR), antigen, and antibody tests.  

All positive, negative, and indeterminate COVID-19 laboratory results must be reported to the 
department via electronic laboratory reporting or by fax. This applies to PCR, other RNA, antigen, and 
antibody tests. 

If your hospital or laboratory is conducting in-house COVID-19 testing and does not have an electronic 
laboratory reporting (ELR) feed established with the Department of Health (DOH), please begin the 
enrollment process by contacting the DOH ELR program at the following email address: 
DLElectronicLabReporting@flhealth.gov.   

Pursuant to Rule 64D-3, Florida Administrative Code, and to ensure a rapid public health response and 
disease control interventions, health care providers and facilities must report all COVID-19 cases to 
their County Health Departments (www.FLhealth.gov/chdepicontact) within 24 hours. 

Suspected or confirmed outbreaks (≥2 cases in 96 hours) of COVID-19 in long-term care facilities or 
similar group settings should be reported immediately.  

Patients with confirmed or suspected COVID-19 or close contact with a case should be provided 
the following resources to help prevent disease transmission: 

• Patients with confirmed COVID-19 

• Patients with suspected COVID-19 

• Centers for Disease Control and and Prevention Self-isolation guidance 

• Cases should inform their close contacts 

• Close contacts to COVID-19 

For additional information, please visit https://floridahealthcovid19.gov/.  
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