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Update on Mandatory Reporting of COVID-19 Results to Florida Department of Health 

September 26, 2020  

• On August 25, 2020, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services issued an Interim Final 

Rule implementing the CARES Act requirement for daily laboratory reporting for COVID-19 test 

results, with a penalty of $1,000 for the first day of noncompliance and an additional $500 

penalty for each subsequent day of noncompliance.  

 

• On September 11, 2020, the Florida Department of Health (FDOH) issued Emergency Order 

20-013 prohibiting laboratories that have not reported results of COVID-19 testing performed by 

the laboratory within 7 days of the completion of the COVID-19 test from electronically 

submitting the untimely test results through the HL7 Electronic Laboratory Reporting System 

(ELR) until authorized by FDOH. 

 

o Upon discovering delinquency in COVID-19 electronic reporting please contact the 

FDOH ELR program at the following e-mail address: 

DLElectronicLabReporting@flhealth.gov. 

 

o In addition, laboratories must immediately comply with Florida Administrative Code Rule 

64D-3.031(6) by reporting COVID-19 results, without delay, by fax to the State Surgeon 

General (fax number (850) 414-6894) and the local FDOH of the patient’s county of 

residence. For a list of county health departments and their reporting contact 

information, please visit: www.FLhealth.gov/chdepicontact. 

 

 

This effort is in support of the Public Health Emergency Declaration for COVID-19. 

For additional information, please visit https://floridahealthcovid19.gov/  

Additional Resources:  

 

CMS COVID-19 Testing and Reporting Requirements  

HHS Laboratory Data Reporting for COVID-19 FAQ 

       

https://www.cms.gov/medicareprovider-enrollment-and-certificationsurveycertificationgeninfopolicy-and-memos-states-and/interim-final-rule-ifc-cms-3401-ifc-additional-policy-and-regulatory-revisions-response-covid-19
https://www.cms.gov/medicareprovider-enrollment-and-certificationsurveycertificationgeninfopolicy-and-memos-states-and/interim-final-rule-ifc-cms-3401-ifc-additional-policy-and-regulatory-revisions-response-covid-19
https://floridahealthcovid19.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/DOH-EO-20-013.pdf
https://floridahealthcovid19.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/DOH-EO-20-013.pdf
mailto:DLElectronicLabReporting@flhealth.gov
https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=64d-3
https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=64d-3
http://www.flhealth.gov/chdepicontact
https://floridahealthcovid19.gov/
https://www.cms.gov/files/document/covid-ppt-nh-all-call.pdf
https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/laboratory-data-reporting-for-covid-19-testing-faqs.pdf

